Texas Doesn’t Mess Around With DWI Laws, And Neither Should You
If you’ve been charged with driving while intoxicated in Texas, the penalties are often steep. Texas has an unforgiving policy for DWI convictions, especially if you’re a repeat offender. However, there are times when a conviction isn’t fully just, or the circumstances of your case have been exaggerated or exploited. Whatever your situation may be, the Law Office of Stewart Rojo can represent you and make sure you have full access to your entitled rights.
Challenging Your DWI Charges
Texas law requires repeat offenders to face higher penalties, but DWI first-time offender charges can be heavy as well. While 0.08 is officially blood alcohol content (BAC) level that’s over the legal limit, any form of observably intoxicated driving can garner consequences. Sometimes, field sobriety tests may fail and register an inaccurate BAC level and falsely implicate you in a more serious set of charges.
In other cases, an enforcement officer’s observation of your driving may be inaccurate, or perhaps you were stopped for an extraneous and unrelated reason that can be challenged. Whatever the circumstances, it’s important to have an attorney backing you if you’re being charged with a DWI to make certain you aren’t being handed disproportionately high penalties.
Penalties Build Up Quickly After The First Offense
Texas law dictates the following levels of penalties for DWI charges:
- First time offenders: Up to 180 days in jail, fines of up to $2,000, and license revocation for up to a year
- Second time offenders: Possible prison sentence of two to 10 years, and a $10,000 fine, plus annual fees to renew your license, which risks suspension for up to two years
- Texas Point System: In the state of Texas, you’ll have points added against you through its point system, meaning you’ll increase your penalties and set yourself up for additional fees on top of the ones you’re already responsible for with each new accrual
An experienced attorney can help you develop a plan to possibly negotiate your sentencing or drop inaccurate charges. A DWI is not a case to handle alone.
Get Your Case Started Immediately
For a consultation about how attorney Stewart Rojo can help you battle your drunk driving charges, call 512-634-8386 today or contact him online.